I've been pumping and feeding Diego breastmilk, but the pumping is really hard! I pump at least 8 times a day, which really cuts down on the time I can hold my baby. I want to stop pumping, or at least pump less so I can hold him and enjoy him more, but I am feeling guilty about giving him formula. Will he be missing out on antibodies to prevent illness? Will the formula upset his little tummy? Am I selfish for wanting to stop pumping? I still wish I could have actually breastfed him, and some have tried to convince me its not too late to try, but I just can't do it. I actually tried for a minute yesterday, but he got upset really quickly just like he had done before and I'm not willing to make the little guy fight for his food. It would be a lot easier to just feed him formula, but I'm going to try a few things before I switch over. I read an article in a La Leche League publication about a woman who pumped and fed her son her milk in a bottle for 6 months and only pumped 5 times a day. 5 times a day is manageable. I feel like pumping 5 times a day doesn't make it too hard to go places or hard to have people come over. This woman was able to pump 40 oz in those 5 sessions and keep up with her sons demand. I am going to strive for that, but if it doesn't work I may have to slowly switch Diego over to formula.
There is so much upheaval about the benefits of breastmilk vs formula, but I just don't know. I know several kids who were never breastfed and who never get sick. And I know several kids who were breastfed and get sick all the time. I really want what's best for my son (what Mother doesn't?) but finding the right balance without guilt is really hard for me. I really wish babies came with an instruction manual!!
Subscribe to:
Post Comments (Atom)
3 comments:
Oh Meghan, I'm sorry you are having to go through this. Just know that you have to do what's going to be right for you. And what's going to make your life happier.
For the first 2 months of Sawyer's life, I nursed her for 30 minutes and then pumped for 15 mintues after she was done. Since she ate every 3 hours, believe me I know how time consuming it can be. There are a lot of us that have been there, if you need to talk.
I don't think you should feel bad for wanting to switch to formula, though. They have improved it so much, I don't know if it's really all that different than breastmilk. And you are right, I'm not sure anymore if it's really going to make a difference in the health of your baby...but it may make a difference in the health of his mommy.
You are the one that knows your baby best, and if you feel like it's taking too much time away from him...then you should do what' going to work best for your family. You're the mom now! You get to make up all the rules!!!
I so agree with Rachel. Do what's best for you and your family.
I nursed both my girls for way too long and let me tell you...they catch everything.
Oh Meghan I know exactly how you feel. Aliyah wouldn't breast feed for anything. For two weeks I pumped and then tried to breast feed her. It was so miserable and I felt so horrible. I was supposed to be happy with having this precious new life in our lives and I was miserable. Finally my lactation specialist told me that a happy mom makes a happy baby and if mom can't be happy, baby won't be. It was such a hard decision to stop. Even though I cried for days, I really did feel so much better. I was able to hold my baby and love it!!! I bonded more with her then I had in the first two weeks. They say every child is different so when we do have another child I will try again and hopefully breastfeeding will be a better experience for both the baby and I.
And you know there will always be those people out there (for me it was men, surprisingly) that will tell you how horrible it is to not breast feed. You know what you can handle and what is best for you and your family. Little Diego is going to grow up healthy and strong on Formula or Breast milk. Just be happy!
Post a Comment